Aubrey Dewitt Smith

(This is research for a law school paper – not my family line)

Aubrey Dewitt Smith

Aubrey Dewitt SMITH

I have finally finished the family trees for the people involved in the Supreme Court case my daughter is writing the legal paper about. I could have gone further back in the family research, but as all Research Junkies know, it is hard to stop.  I have taken the family lines back further back than I needed to.  I have gotten so caught up these people who I truly feel connected to now.

This post is about Aubrey Dewitt SMITH.  He was murdered by his wife, Dorothy Krueger SMITH in Japan in October of 1952.  Dorothy was the daughter of famed WWII General Walter KRUEGER.  From the newspaper articles and legal papers that we have read, it would seem the Dorothy was an alcoholic and narcotics addict.  She killed Aubrey in his sleep with a hunting knife.  The Smiths had two children, a daughter, age 14, and a son, age 16.

Aubrey Smith‘s story is very impressive.  He came from humble beginnings in Cooper County, Missouri.  His father was first a farmer, then a laborer in a pipe factory.  Aubrey’s appointment to The United States Military Academy marked the beginning of a brilliant military career.

At the time of his death, he was a Colonel, Chief of Plans and Operations Division [Far East Command’s Logistic section] of the U S Army in Japan.  SMITH was repeatedly decorated for valor in WWII and the Korean War.  Awards include Legion of Merit with Oak Leaf Custer, Silver Star with Oak Leaf Custer, and Bronze Star Medal.

A brilliant career was cut short by his tragic murder.  Dorothy Krueger SMITH is a tragic character in this story as well.  She had sought medical help for her addictions and mental problems and her doctors let her down.

I will write about Dorothy tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Aubrey Dewitt Smith

  1. Welcome to the GeneaBloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family saga novels:
    “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

    • Thanks for the welcome. I am already enjoying writing about this research I am doing for the legal paper. It was great to find out that the skills I learned in family research could help in other ways. I promised to post Dorothy’s story, but I haven’t done so yet – will do that tonight or tomorrow and then I will write about the other couple and then an overview of the Supreme Court case and the important precedents that were set. Fascinating stuff.

      I know SMITH is a common name, but would by any chance be related to his SMITH family – they were from Missouri? Maybe I should post Aubrey’s family tree here for SMITH researchers.

Leave a Reply

