Dutch Genealogy – The Alberding Family – A Scandal?

                                         Hendrika and Hendrick Alberding

UPDATE: I picked up the date of death for Coenraad Alberding incorrectly. The entry I used for for his great-great grandfather who died in 1809.  The date of death of Coenraad discussed below is undetermined.  He died before 1916, but was probably Hendrika’s natural father.

Chapter 2

Before I write about the Alberding siblings who stayed in Amsterdam, I need to back up a bit to some information uncovered since my last post. The City Archives of Amsterdam has some records online and I spent a long time searching for Alberding information there.  I found a “Funeral Book” that listed the date of death or funeral (it is all in Dutch, but I could make out the dates at least) for great-grandfather-in-law, Coenraad Abraham Alberding, Sr. as 29 Dec 1909 in Amsterdam.

I had found Hendrika in the Social Security Death Index where her date of birth is given as 23 Jan 1911. As I was entering  information on my grandfather-in-law’s parents and siblings into my genealogy database, a message popped up that Hendrika’s date of birth was after her father’s death. Hmmm – OK.  I rechecked all of the information and realized that she was born 11 months after Great-Grandfather Coenraad’s death.

I sent an email off to a cousin in Holland – the granddaughter of one of the Alberding siblings who did not immigrate to America – and asked her what she thought about this.  She replied that her Mum remembers her mother saying, “there were always uncles whom visited the house.” Lia continued, “so great-grand ma Johanna might have had a baby from one of them, when her husband had already died.” How deliciously scandalous! Genealogists live for discoveries like this one.

No one had ever said there was any question about who Aunt Riki’s father was.  Surely one of the older children must have realized that, doing the math, it did not add up that Coenraad, Sr. was Hendrika’s father.  The oldest of the children who did not immigrate was Adriana Kuiper nee Alberding.  Many of the children and grandchildren of Johanna never remember hearing an Adriana mentioned and guessed that there might have been a rift between Johanna and Adrianna. This discovery could well be the source of the rift as Adriana might have seriously disapproved of her mother giving birth to a baby 11 months after her father died.  Adriana herself was no angel, but I will save that story for another post.  The Alberding women would most certainly have been in favor of contraception – I have no doubt!

Leave a Reply

